My Heart on My Sleeve

2 Aug

I made this button yesterday, because I feel like wearing my heart on my sleeve.

Last year I decided to stop obsessing about politics, to stop monitoring every website and reading every critical article that came my way, and living half a world away the commitment has not been difficult to keep, but since I arrived in the United States it has become very obvious to me that the tide has turned for the Obama White House, much to my regret.

I am disappointed because I find the constant criticism terribly unfair. I happen to think that President Obama has done as well as he could given the circumstances. He has walked the mire and come out of it with major victories, I just don’t see what there is to criticize, and it’s pretty hard to ignore the fact that on the whole he is not being slammed for gaffes or miscalculations, but simply for being who he is.

I’ll speak frankly now and say that, in general, I consider Republican people to be rather mean and unfeeling folk, who care for no-one except their own kind, but if there is one thing about them that I think is worth emulating, it’s their willingness to stand up for their cause, as well as their unwavering support for their leaders. We Democrats should learn a thing or two about it, and while they can twist and manipulate the discourse in ways that are, in my view, nothing short of dishonorable, I envy them their mastery of the message, and the efficiency and confidence with which they control the discourse.

So if you are Democrat, if you are Liberal, I have a message for you: Make a statement, support your president and stand up for what you believe in, and for goodness’ sake don’t walk away from helping the politicians who share your values, and whether you think Barack Obama has delivered on every promise he made on the campaign trail or not, the only ones who will benefit if you withdraw your support are the same people who nearly ruined the country in the first place.

Do you really want to see Sarah Palin or Newt Gingrich as the President of the United States? Because I’m afraid that’s what’s going to happen if we continue to apologize for what we believe in and  fail to learn to be proud of our principles, which history and common sense have shown us are morally upright.

I hope we find our spine and fight the good fight, the country will be the loser if we don’t.

Button made using Da Button Factory.

3 Responses to “My Heart on My Sleeve”

  1. jessicasoon August 2, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    http://thethingsrepublicanshate.com/
    this website is hilarious – i always go to it when i need a pick-me-up :-)

    • Lizzy August 2, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you, Jessica. That is a great website!

  2. Marlon August 3, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I’m with you on this one. The levels of stupidity, ignorance and plain idiocy in this country are so bad that David Cameron and the Tories would be considered as pinko-communist liberals by today’s Republican troglodytes.

Leave a Reply

