Ten Things I Love About America

25 Jun

Once again I have made the long journey home to America for the summer with my two little kids, a couple of suitcases, and a handful of dreams.

I dreamed of a leafy street, of my mother’s kitchen and my father’s smile, my children’s laughter and their wide-eyed wonder. I dreamed of home.

H-O-M-E. It feels good to spell it out. I’ve been thinking about all the things I love about this country, and I’m amazed at how, regardless of the time I’ve been away, I seem to fit in the moment I get back.

I made a list, because things become real to me when I write them down.

  1. Diversity. It’s good. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I’ve seen what happens in a closed society, where fear and mistrust of outsiders are the norm.
  2. Respect. For people, for animals, for dreams and hopes.
  3. Opportunity. The chance to work for what you want, the chance to get it, the right to keep it.
  4. Freedom. The right to be what you want, do what you want, dress how you want, love whom you want.
  5. Work. There is so much a woman can do here, there are no limits.
  6. Accountability. Actions have consequences, and carelessness and negligence do not go unpunished.
  7. Education. You can be the best here, study anything, learn anything, regardless of your age.
  8. Rules. Life is better for everyone when people follow the rules, from how to drive a car to waiting your turn and standing in line.
  9. Order. I love properly planned houses and properly planned roads.
  10. Efficiency. Things work as they are supposed to. The lights come on when you flip the switch, the water flows when you turn the tap, the shop opens when it says it will…
3 Responses to “Ten Things I Love About America”

  1. Courtney June 25, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Welcome home! And thank you for the reminder that we live in a great country, and I shouldn’t take advantage of it! Your perspective is so interesting.

  2. Lizzy June 26, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Thanks, Courtney. It’s nice to see you, I hope you are enjoying your summer!

  3. Papa August 3, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    Welcome home. We had our arms and our heart wide open since we got the first notice of your coming.

    Thank you for that list of things you love about this country. We are blessed to be part of this great land of opportunities.

Leave a Reply

