Good Wishes and A Link

31 Dec

Just a few words to wish you all a Happy New Year. May 2010 bring happiness, safety and good health.

Before I go, I want to post this link because I’m glad someone said what has been on my mind. I’m fed up with politics to be honest, but I can’t get over the hypocrisy and vindictiveness of people on the Right. And yes, you guessed it, I am a Liberal, and very proud of it.

5 Responses to “Good Wishes and A Link”

  1. amber January 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Hello all,
    I have just stumbled over this site when looking for a tumble dryer for pakistan. I’m a British lady early thirties with two young children. A boy, who is 6 and a daughter who is 3. My husband wants me to move to pakistan and he has already made the move.
    I Initially agreed but now I am extremly worried as I was born in the UK and educated here. I am a college lecturer and have visited Pakistan several times. I can not seem to find any house hold items like tumble dryers and proper washing machines (the washing machines I have seen require a lot of mannual work). Can anyone put me out of my misery and suggest any solutions? I am due to move to Mangla, Azad Kashmir but willing to travel to purchase household items.
    Can anyone also shed any light on the Education system? Which schools are good? I have no family or friends in Pakistan except his side of the family who are non the wiser!!
    I would be grateful if I could be pointed in the right direction.
    Thank you.

    • Lizzy January 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

      Hi Amber,

      Thank you for your comment, and for visiting my site.

      Regarding household items like washing machines, I would suggest going to a large city like Islamabad. Here in Lahore there is an area where all the appliance shops are concentrated, and we also have large stores like the new Carrefour Hyperstar that opened last year, and warehouse-type shops like Metro and Makro, that sell all type of appliances, including front-loading, fully-automatic machines like you have in the UK, although they are very expensive. I saw one the other day selling for more than fifty thousand rupees. Another option would be the stand-alone brand showrooms like Samsung and Sony, they sell all type of appliances, but again, I don’t know if they are available in Mangla.

      Do consider making a trip to either Lahore or Islamabad. I will also point you to this post of mine: https://mydearlizzy.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/the-laundry-meme/

      You might find it interesting.

      I answered a question regarding washing machines some time ago, so take a look at the comment section here: https://mydearlizzy.wordpress.com/about-me/

      As far as education is concerned, my experience has been good. My daughter, who is five, is going to kindergarten at a very good English-medium private school. The fees are high for Pakistan (although not when you compare it to American and English private education), but I’ve heard people say it is the best school in Pakistan.

      The City School and Beaconhouse are good options, both offer modern, rigorous curricula in English. Check Beaconhouse at this link, they have a branch in Mirpur, which I think is near the area of your interest. http://www.beaconhouse.edu.pk/bssgroup/southasia/

      I can tell you a lot more, but I’d rather do it via email, so let me know if you would like me to write to you on this subject.

      I wish you good luck with your plans.

  2. Monster Librarian January 4, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Lizzy! Happy New Year!

    • Lizzy January 4, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

      Same to you, dear Monster!

  3. Marlon January 4, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Happy New Year. We love you guys.

Leave a Reply

