NaBloPoMo: Past the Midway Point

19 Nov

I’ve made it past the hump without missing a day, but it’s been close.

I have plenty of ideas, but fitting in the time to write has been a challenge sometimes, especially because my concentration suffers when I’m interrupted constantly, as it is bound to happen with a young child.

So far, NaBloPoMo has been good for me. It has made me feel like a thinking adult who has something to say and it has forced me to put my thoughts on paper, as it were.

Living in a foreign country is a lonely experience at times. It’s easy to isolate yourself, and to tell the truth, I don’t have any friends here.

I’m not the kind of person who makes friendships quickly anyway, and I’ve always found it difficult to find people who share my interests and tastes. We’re talking Jane Austen and Charles Dickens here, who don’t mesh well with reality tv and the like, so, as a Hispanic American living in Pakistan, a non-muslim, non-religious, stay-at-home mother who likes to read and bake, let’s just say I’m not a sought-after friend.

I’m pretty happy in my own company though, and the things I like are solitary pursuits anyway, but “a change of scene and society” as my dear Lizzy says in P&P2, would not be unwelcome once in a while. In my case, the internet is a “most precious treasure” that I would not give up for anything. I don’t know if I could live in Pakistan without it.

I’m thinking I will make it to the end of the month. It’s 19 Down, 11 to Go.

One Response to “NaBloPoMo: Past the Midway Point”

  1. gumbomum November 20, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    I’m enjoying reading your posts! There must be kindred souls for you in Pakistan somewhere, but it’s good that you are happy enough in your own company!

Leave a Reply

