Julie & Julia

8 Nov

I finally saw this movie last night. I loved it. The clothes, the look, the setting, everything was beautiful. I’m surprised they filmed a lot of it in New York, finding that out made me really nostalgic for it, and I sighed with longing to the time when I lived there years ago.

I have never tried cooking French food and I don’t particularly wish to, except for a persistent desire to make my own puff pastry. I have more affinity for Italian food, with its bold, earthy flavors and simple, uncomplicated dishes, but I am in awe of Julia Child.

She was nearly fifty when her book was published, a full career behind her, and that gives me so much hope. I’ve spent the last five years as a stay-at-home mother, dedicating myself to my family, and sometimes I wonder if I will ever have the chance to build a career when I fear that my time is past.

I think Julia Child was such a remarkable, gifted woman, confident and full of life, and I’m so glad to know that she a had happy, fulfilling marriage to a man who saw her for the intelligent, vivacious woman that she was, and not an awkward, un-feminine misfit without any looks. Because, you know, even the ugliest man wants a pretty wife.

I had a great time, and I will definitely watch the movie again. My Life In France is going on my wish list too!

Leave a Reply

