Gray Day

1 Nov

I’m feeling pretty sorry for myself today. It’s been one of those days when everything piles on and I don’t have the strength to put on a happy face.

The word “Mama” being uttered every five two minutes jars on my nerves. I am homesick, and loneliness feels like a load on my shoulders that I can’t shake off. I am annoyed, too, that a new text message announcing another week of school closings due to security concerns arrived today. It’s the third week in a row. And to top it all, I have a rash on my face.

So, in order to cheer myself up I have decided to participate in the National Blog Posting Month for this year. I did it in 2007, and even though in my opinion it’s lost some of the fun since they turned it into a year-long thing, I think it will be good for me to have a daily goal, something other than changing diapers, feeding children and answering endless questions from a five-year-old. I love taking care of my family, and I do it gladly, but boy is it hard work. I sometimes think the life of a woman is a life of perpetual servitude.

29 to go…Here’s to a good November!

2 Responses to “Gray Day”

  1. Monster Librarian November 2, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    Lizzy,

    Sending happy thoughts to you on your grey day. :)

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) November 3, 2009 at 1:51 am #

    Thank you Monster. I feel better today.

Leave a Reply

