A Brush with hate

10 Oct

I received this message on my Youtube profile today:

Pakistan is where they grow terrorists. YOu scum have infected the earth. You don’t know how to live in peace with anyone. The sooner you all die, the sooner the world can get on living.
I’m surprised I’ve been attacked like this, because I don’t use Youtube much, I have a small presence there. I watch videos once in a while, and I keep a list of favorite songs, but I never comment on anything and I don’t download any content. I did make two short videos of my children last year to share with my parents, and even though my profile was empty of any information, it did show my location.
It’s not pleasant to be the target of such a message. It’s one of the reasons why I don’t talk about the political situation in Pakistan on this blog, because I don’t want to attract the kind of people who can leave comments like this one.
I don’t know how anyone can honestly call an entire nation scum who can’t live in peace with anyone while at the same time wishing death on millions of innocent people.
It frightens me.
2 Responses to “A Brush with hate”

  1. aighmeigh October 12, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    That is terrifying. It disgusts me that anyone would think it was necessary, right, or even remotely okay to say something like that to someone else… let alone someone they don’t even know anything about.

  2. O. M. October 14, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    Don’t worry, that kind of people exists all over the world and they will always try to take out their frustiations. But that comment shouldn’t make you frightened.

Leave a Reply

