The Last Ten Pounds

12 Mar

I weighed myself last week for the first time since my son was born last July. I have lost most of my pregnancy weight, I fit into almost all of my clothes, even some that were too tight before I got pregnant, but those troublesome ten or fifteen pounds at the end seem to be too comfortable where they are, wrapped cosily around my tummy. 

I am 5 feet 6 inches tall and my weight is now 70 kg, or 154 pounds. My Body Mass Index is 24.9, right at the edge of what is considered normal, but I know I am out of shape. I can see it in my body, I can feel it in my 33-inch waistline, and as I start my 37th year, I have decided that enough is enough.

I like being thin, it makes me feel good, and, to be honest, I think I look ugly when I am fat. My face bears every sign of my mestizo heritage, with a round shape, full cheeks and high cheekbones, and I get no quarter when I carry even a couple of extra pounds. I will never have a sultry, sculpted look, but I am determined that as I approach 40, I will be in the best shape of my life.

Looking at what eat, my biggest vice is bread. I love bread. I love potatoes, I love rice and I love cake. I don’t over-eat, but my problem is that many times I will forgo a proper meal but will instead have a couple of slices of bread, a few boiled potatoes with a teaspoon of butter, or some cookies with a full glass of Coke. I know that if I cut out all those things, the weight will come off as a natural result.

A few years ago I tried to do the Atkins diet, but following it exactly as it’s prescribed was too difficult for me. I couldn’t stick to it, it gave me headaches and it made me miserable, so I have made a menu that restricts the bread and all those things that I love, but allows other things like fruit, coffee and dairy. This is my fourth day on this plan and so far I am doing well. The first and second day were the worst, I had terrible cravings for everything starchy, but I am happy to say that other than one or two crumbs of my daughter’s toast that I ate just to get a little taste, I stuck it out.

I am aiming for slow but steady progress, because I want to keep to the plan long enough to make a difference, and the occasional stumble is better than quitting altogether. Yesterday my food diary looked like this:

Breakfast (Around 8 a.m.)

2 boiled eggs

1 cup of coffee with non-dairy creamer and 1 ½ teaspoons of sugar

Snack at 11 a.m.

1 banana

1 slice of mozzarella cheese

Lunch Around 1 p.m.

Zucchini, onion and tomato stir fry, made with one tablespoon of olive oil

Romaine lettuce salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Snack Mid-afternoon

2 tablespoons unsalted peanuts

2 sips of Coke (full disclosure!)

Dinner Around 6 p.m.

1 grilled chicken breast

1 medium baked onion, with olive oil and herbs

Tomato and cucumber salad, with raita (yogurt dressing)

 

If I get hungry in the evening I’ll eat a banana or an apple, or I’ll have a pot of yogurt. I am drinking lots of water and in the next few days I’ll start using the treadmill. On the second day of my diet I felt a little feckless in the afternoon, but a short nap with the baby really helped.

It’s a constant struggle to pass on the forbidden stuff because it’s everywhere, but my tactic of getting a tiny taste to satisfy my craving seems to be working. I’m planning to keep to this diet for the next two weeks when I will reasses to see where I stand.

3 Responses to “The Last Ten Pounds”

  1. charlotteotter March 13, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Well done with getting back in shape so quickly. I understand the need to lose those last few kilos – I have a “happy weight”, which is by no means skinny, but the weight at which I feel comfortable, which I am aiming for now.

    I am doing a low-carb eating plan, which sounds extremely similar to what you are doing. If you want to google it, it is called the Idiot-Proof Diet. I feel so full of energy (and the weight is coming OFF) that I can really recommend it.

  2. O. Machado March 15, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    Well, that diet seems to be OK. If you are dtermined to stay on it long enough, I am sure will work. A for me, the best way to stay in shape is to avoid sugar and any kind of sofdrink, specially Coke, an to limit the amount of starchy food all day.

    Some have said some where: “EAT SMART: HAVE BREAKFAST AS QUEEN, HAVE LUNCH AS A PRINCES AND HAVE DINNER AS A MAID” but I don’t know if that works.

    As for you, keep up the good job and good luck.

  3. Natalian March 17, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    Carbs beautiful carbs! My cravings are exactly the same with the addition of chocolate! You have done very well shedding the baby pounds! I found I lost quicker after my second baby – after my first baby it took 18 mths before I felt like my old pre-baby self!

Leave a Reply

