A Rambling Post

28 Feb

Ramble: 1. To speak or write with many digressions. 2. To follow a winding course. 3. To wander aimlessly. -n. A leisurely stroll.

I have an opinion about nearly everything, and many times I am moved to write about what I see and read, but my thoughts may be nothing more than snippets that are too small for a whole post, so I have decided to start writing them down in one post that ‘wanders aimlessly’ through what has been on my mind. Here’s the first one:

Gwyneth Paltrow and GOOP  I know a lot of people are making fun of her and ridiculing her newsletter, but I think the criticism is unfair. There are millions of blogs out there, and if we can all post recipes, talk about parenting and books or dispense some sort of advice to our readers, why can’t Gwyneth Paltrow do it too? She’s not charging for it, she has the resources that allow her to bring in experts to write about the issues (which is more than most bloggers can do), and she knows interesting people who have something to say. If you think it’s rubbish, by all means don’t subscribe to her newsletter but let the woman be!

To Spend or Not to Spend: The Stimulus Plan and the Bank Bailout  Why do Republicans oppose government spending? I fail to understand why financing the invasion of a foreign country is a worthy expenditure, but programs that benefit people at home and create a sound economic foundation are considered ‘wasteful’.

The New York Post’s monkey cartoon The intended message is obvious and repulsive. Even as a joke it’s hard to understand what can be humorous about it, but it sure proves to me that very often people and their jobs match each other perfectly. Only those who think a certain way can work for a newspaper that would publish a cartoon like that and call it satire. There is no defense for drawing a comparison between a black man and a monkey.

Hillary Clinton’s first trip as SoS  Was it my imagination or was she really on television on the verge of doing karaoke at a shopping mall? Whatever happened to being ready on day one? and I didn’t like what she said about human rights and China.

David Cameron’s son Ivan  What a great tragedy it must be to lose a child. I was very moved by photographs of little Ivan with his family, and I thought once again how fortunate I am to have two healthy children. I hugged my baby boy a little bit tighter that day. Rest in Peace, Ivan Cameron.

Mickey Rooney Rourke Good lord, what has happened to him? He used to be so handsome. I saw 9 ½ Weeks when I was in my teens (the city where I grew up had only one theater and it was not restricted) and he really had a beautiful face. I’m glad he didn’t win at the Oscars, because it’s sad and embarrassing to see him (and hear him) now.

Maureen Dowd is grumpy I read her columns regularly, but I’ve been taken aback by the last few. She seems too severe on the President, although I agree about tempering his annoyance with Joe Biden’s awkwardness, plus she quoted Jane Austen, but please, less vinegar, more mildness and do check the spelling of Mr Knightley.

Jade Goody  I honestly thought the news of her illness was another stunt. I have never watched her show and the first I knew of her was not very good, but I feel sorry for her and her children.

4 Responses to “A Rambling Post”

  1. natalian March 1, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    I enjoyed reading your ‘ramblings’ and agree with your opinions. Cartoonists for newspapers do tend to push the envelope!

  2. aighmeigh March 2, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    Very nice set of ramblings there. I actually checked out GOOP today and don’t see what all the fuss is about. It’s a nice looking site with some interesting info on it. People are way too over critical… either that or have too much time on their hands and have to talk trash to keep themselves entertained!

    The monkey cartoon, no matter how much some folks claim it was addressing the chimp shooting, is disgraceful. No one can deny the associations a cartoon like that would have, and even the most basic level of common sense would say that publishing something like that is opening a rather vile can of worms.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ramblings « No.1 Mouse Place - May 20, 2009

    […] May 20, 2009 by lvmg (Lizzy) Here’s a second helping of what has been on my mind lately. To read the first one, go here. […]

  2. Ramblings « No.1 Mouse Place - September 13, 2009

    […] see more posts like this, go here and here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Meme of FiveTantrumsThe Daily Grind: What do you […]

Leave a Reply

