Lazy is the Word

25 Mar

I have been trying to find a word to describe my state of being these past few months. I thought apathy might be it, because I simply can’t seem to get motivated to do several monumental tasks that need doing, like putting the winter clothes away, taking the summer ones out, de-cluttering the guest room in preparation for April visitors, or writing for this blog.

I’ve made a few starts, but they seem to splutter and die out before they get going. After much consideration, I have to admit that I just feel lazy!

Maybe it’s the fact that, speaking frankly, my husband and I are a bit disillusioned of living here, and that no matter how we manage our household, the outside world always manages to intrude in our otherwise peaceful and orderly existence. We find ourselves with increasing frequency simply staying home, never going anywhere, and seeing very few people. Even a trip to the grocery store gets deferred for another day when we can muster the forbearance to deal with the maddening traffic, the smog and the crowded shops.

Maybe it´s the fact that I am almost five months pregnant, with constant hunger accompanied by constant nausea, heartburn and a sour taste in my mouth.

Whatever the reason, I’m tired of it. There are one or two decisions we have to make in the near future, the most pressing one being whether the birth of our child will happen here in Pakistan or if I should make the considerable effort of travelling back to the United States.

It all depends on how we are treated at the American Embassy here, a prospect that, after a couple of bad experiences, fills me with trepidation and keeps hovering over my head with a somewhat unfriendly face.

8 Responses to “Lazy is the Word”

  1. charlotteotter March 27, 2008 at 3:22 am #

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! But sorry to hear that things aren’t quite what they should be. I hope your visit to the US Embassy is rewarding.

  2. Kerryn April 1, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    Congratulations from me, too. I do hope that all works out well and in the way that is right for you and your hubby. It must be such a difficult decision to make…

  3. Karrie B April 20, 2008 at 6:37 pm #

    Congratulations!! I know exactly how you feel. There is a total lack of motivation to do anything except the absolute minimum. I hope the third trimester is better for you. :) Maybe your nesting will kick in and get all those things you listed done before the baby comes.

    Regarding your decision to come to the US to have the baby is sure a big one. What does the US Embassy have to do with it though? That was confusing to me.

    As a person that is trying to get to Pakistan, I did insist on having my last child in the US before we were going to go to Pak. That is because I was going to have a c-section and the thought of a major surgery in Pak. was scary to me not being there to check out the medical facilities. I know there are good and not so good facilities there. Since you are already there, can you see where you will deliver like they do hospital tours in the US? Maybe that would ease your mind and talk to your OB there. God willing you will have an easy delivery and make the right decision for your family. I imagine you have to make the decision quickly as they don’t let you fly much into the 8th month I think.

    Best of luck to you. Make sure you let us know what you had! :)

  4. lvmg (Lizzy) April 21, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    Hi Karrie,

    A child born to a parent who is a U.S. citizen is entitled to American citizenship. There are certain conditions that have to be met, but generally all you have to do is apply for a document called Consular Report of Birth Abroad. This document then allows for an American passport to be issued for the child.

    My concern regarding the embassy has to do with all the paperwork needed to accomplish this process. I have heard of some experiences that have not gone smoothly, so I will pay them a visit before I have to make a decision, because I don’t want any surprises. Who knows? maybe they will ask me what I had for dinner twenty years ago.

    I am not concerned about the quality of the hospital where I would deliver my baby, if it happens in Pakistan. Three women in my husband’s family have had babies while I’ve been here, two with c-sections, so I am familiar with private health care. The hospital where I would go (and where I am receiving pre-natal care) is very modern, and both my doctors have been trained in England.

    Unfortunately there is a great gulf between what well-off people here can afford and the rest of the population, so I would never say the same thing about government hospitals.

    Thanks for asking :-)

    And thank you Charlotte and Kerryn for your good wishes!

  5. g April 23, 2008 at 3:16 am #

    Hi,

    I found your blog because I was thinking of starting a blog about lingerie with the name “One Mouse Place”, in hommage to Mrs. Smiling.

    I’m glad I googled to avoid conflict.

    Oh well, guess I’ll think of something different!

    But congratulations on your pregnancy, and compliments on a very nice blog. In my recollection, the bloating and the sickness gets a little better in the later trimesters. I wish you much luck!

    Glennis in Topanga, CA

  6. Helen May 22, 2008 at 5:36 pm #

    Wah! Congratulations! I haven’t checked your blog for ages – I seem to have been in a state of chaos since we came back to Australia in February. I guess you will have made the decision now whether to stay in Pakistan or go back to the US. I must say, I have a similar feeling of trepidation when I have to deal with the British Embassy. Despite being a British citizen, I always get treated like Public Enemy Number 1. I can relate to questions like what did you have for dinner 20 years ago. The latest piece of ridiculousness I experienced was the British Embassy here telling me my birth certificate was invalid and I had to go through the palaver of getting it reissued (and this was when we were applying for Kiko’s British passport so it didn’t really have anything to do with me). It was so stupid – there was nothing wrong with my original birth certificate but I suppose the people in power need to feel they’re Being Important all day.

    Is your baby due in July? All the best and I hope you’re feeling loads better.

  7. lvmg (Lizzy) May 27, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    Hi Helen,

    My due date falls the first week of August, but I have a feeling it will actually happen at the end of July.

    I am still uncomfortable, but I can eat better now. I don´t know how other women can do this several times! Their strenght is amazing.

  8. Helen July 21, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    I’ve been wondering about the baby-o…! I hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

