A pleasurable task

9 Dec

There’s a chore on my to-do list. It is time-consuming and requires care and attention, but unlike cleaning bathrooms and doing the laundry, it is filled with nothing but pleasure and excitement, because my chore is to pack for our trip to Thailand.

It will be our first time there, and we are all very excited. I look forward to seeing a new land and a new culture.

When I think of Thailand, I think of the Thai girl who befriended my brother and my father during their first lonely months in the United States.

I think of the smiling ladies who worked at our favorite Thai restaurant, where we marvelled at their skill in carving watermelons, while we savoured Basil Chicken and Fried Rice with an egg on top. I think of blue silk, golden temples and white elephants.

I hope to post some pictures and to write a bit about what I see. We’ll be in Bangkok for some time, where my husband has some business, but we will spend Christmas in Phuket, and we’ll travel home before the end of the year.

I go to’t with delight!

3 Responses to “A pleasurable task”

  1. Marlon December 10, 2007 at 12:27 am #

    Greetings from São Paulo, Brazil! Have a good trip and enjoy your time in Asia. I always do.

  2. susiej December 10, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    Your trip sounds wonderful. Have a great time packing!

  3. Helen December 17, 2007 at 1:37 pm #

    I think of all the lovely Thai students I taught English. I will never, ever forget them.

    I hope you have a great trip. I’m packing at the moment too.

Leave a Reply

