Seven Weird Things About Me

26 Nov

I’ve been tagged by Kerryn, who has saved my life tonight. I’m plain out of ideas today, but it’s almost over and come the first of December, I am sure my mind will be full of all the posts that I could have written during NaBloPoMo.

I don’t consider myself weird, but I know that there are many things about me that other people think are totally out of the ordinary. Here I go, let’s see if I can name seven.

  1. I tend to memorize entire chunks of dialogue from my favorite movies. I used to love the original Die Hard movie because of Alan Rickman’s performance, but the movie is full of four-letter words and really foul language, which made it very difficult to repeat some of the lines. I also know all the dialogue to the 1995 BBC miniseries of Pride & Prejudice, and can recite it at will, which I sometimes do when I am bored and there’s no one around. Ok, that is pretty weird, I admit.
  2. I am totally out of touch with current popular music. I listen to my favorites over and over, and the new music I get is usually something new from the musicians I like, or from recommendations found in trusted sources. I heard Amy Winehouse on the radio the other day and I liked her voice and her style, but I knew about her from the publicity regarding her personal life before I heard her music.
  3. I sometimes faint when I visit the sick in hospitals. I think it’s the smell of medicine and antiseptic, and the air of ill health all around me.
  4. I waited ten years to have my daughter. She was born when she was supposed to be born, but we were lucky.
  5. I am a horrible dancer, especially of Latin American music like salsa and merengue. When I was at university the Foreign Languages Department made a trip to the Cajun region in Louisiana to attend the French Festival, and a Spanish Literature professor from Dominican Republic made me dance with him, to my utter chagrin. He kept saying “where’s your Latin blood?”.
  6. I cry when I am moved, which people here in Pakistan think is very  weird. My husband’s sister had a baby a couple of months ago, and when I first saw him my eyes welled up. The nurse kept asking what was wrong with me.
  7. I am allergic to tree sap, but I didn’t know it until last year. I had had reactions to it in the past, but I was unable to figure out exactly what was the cause. Our house in America was surrounded by oak and pine trees, and drops of sap would always fall on our car. I tried to clean a glob that fell in the middle of the windshield with some cotton soaked in rubbing alcohol, and when I finished my fingers were itching. I touched my face before I washed my hands and hours later my eye was swollen shut. My skin was red and blistery, and I had to go to the doctor twice before I got better.
3 Responses to “Seven Weird Things About Me”

  1. charlotteotter November 27, 2007 at 2:32 pm #

    I’ve also recently discovered Amy Winehouse and I think her voice is amazing! Unfortunately it’s not music I can listen to around my children, because she’s not scared of colourful language.

    I cry easily too. I haven’t worked out what the Germans think of that yet, but I am easily moved. Do you cry in movies?

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) November 27, 2007 at 2:53 pm #

    I noticed her language! I don’t mind it too much because it seems very natural in her, not something she does to shock people. She’s definitely not for children!

    Yes, I cry in movies, even in the theatre. When I went to see Fahrenheit 911 I cried when they showed all the African American Senators decrying the disputed election and being ignored and silenced. It made me think of the injustices that powerless people suffer every day.

  3. Kerryn November 27, 2007 at 4:57 pm #

    I don’t faint but I’m not fond of hospitals — they always seem so cheerless and uncaring and far from the ideal environment for ill people to become well again.

    Amy Winehouse is also a recent discovery for me. I love the earthiness of her voice (and language).

Leave a Reply

