My Name meme

20 Nov

Charlotte has tagged me for this meme, giving me another day’s post. She is a lifesaver today.

L is for Love. I am the well-loved child, the beloved wife and mother, daughter and sister. Nothing else matters, but the meaning of those four letters. I would give up everything for it.

I is for Imagination. When I was a child, I used to make up stories in my head. They were long, detailed and complicated, and would entertain me for hours. I never really wrote them down, but I would talk to myself, especially on the way home from school or from visiting my grandmother’s house. It alarmed my mother more than once, especially as I think a neighbor once said something to her. As the youngest child and the only girl in my family, having a rich imagination was necessary; it prevented boredom and made me self-reliant. I never needed a playmate.

Z is for zzzz’s because I love to sleep. Late in the morning, early in the afternoon, you name it, I like it. I get a headache if I wake up abruptly, so I call sleeping-in beneficial to my health and necessary for my well-being, not to mention my happiness. I get grumpy if I don’t get enough sleep.

Z is for Zinnia Zinnia. One of my favorite flowers, which always has a place in the garden of my dreams. I like the cheerful, happy face, and the well-defined, elegant petals. The rich colors remind me of little gemstones laying in the dirt. Ah to have a garden!

Y is for Yellow. I cannot wear the color, but I love it in anything else, especially when paired with red. It can be casual, bursting with color, as in French Country style, or elegant and faded as in English Country. It’s a color that speaks to me of home, of soft, creamy butter, gently glistening on warm toast; of a rich, moist cake, and a pale, fluffy omelette. It speaks to me of friendliness and happiness, and that’s really why I like it.

2 Responses to “My Name meme”

  1. charlotteotter November 21, 2007 at 11:03 am #

    I love my zzzzzs too. Absolutely essential.

    I also don’t wear yellow but love it in other contexts: roses, butter, walls, cakes.

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) November 21, 2007 at 8:19 pm #

    I love yellow roses, and I’m always attracted to yellow houses.

    It’s a pity I can’t wear the color, because whenever I go into a shop the yellow palette looks so lovely to me.

Leave a Reply

