Grateful

18 Nov

It occurred to me yesterday, at the end of a lazy day spent reading in bed and watching a movie on the computer, that I have a nice life.

My husband and I shared a hearty laugh as I told him so. I think he was happy to hear me say it, and since then I have been very aware that I have plenty to be grateful for, from a house that is too big to clean comfortably by myself, to a mate who smothers me with affection, a daughter who loves my company, and caring parents who wish for my presence yet settle for emails that are always too brief.

How glad I am that my husband and I can be together, to raise our child and live our life as a family. It is a precious gift.

2 Responses to “Grateful”

  1. Marlon November 19, 2007 at 10:20 pm #

    Life is too short and, for that reason alone, we must honor it by being grateful for what we have and by trying our best to be happy every single day.

    I learned that eight years ago when what I thought was important became a burden and the certainty of a routine turned into a curse.

    Today, I’m happy to be wherever I can be, even if it’s a crowded airport at midnight with bad weather outside and no decent restaurants to speak of.

    I know that if something doesn’t fit in my suitcase I probably don’t need to buy it, and that my home is the small space Edna, our three cats: Jerome, Lilith, and Oliver, and I occupy on a bed, wherever that bed happens to be.

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) November 19, 2007 at 10:30 pm #

    Beautifully said, Marlon.

Leave a Reply

