Fresh Apple Cake

17 Nov

I always make this cake at this time of year, when apples are plentiful and the weather calls for heavier, more substantial cakes.

The recipe is very simple, and what I like the most about this cake is that it is made by hand, without an electric mixer, which can crush the delicate pieces of apple. Older apples are best because they tend to be sweeter. I like Red Delicious apples, but similar varieties will work well.

This is one of those one-bowl recipes that are so useful to have, and it is very versatile, my mother has made it with pineapple and peaches instead of apples. The nuts can be omitted or substituted. I used blanched almonds today because that is what I had. I also used less oil than the recipe indicates, and it turned out all right.

Apple Cake

Ingredients

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups sugar

3 cups apple, peeled, cored and chopped

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 ¼ cup oil

3 cups flour, sifted

1 cup chopped walnuts

Method

Do not preheat the oven.

Beat the eggs using a wire whisk. Add the sugar, the oil and the vanilla.

Switch to a wooden spoon or a rubber spatula and stir in the chopped apples.

Gradually stir in flour, salt, soda and the nuts, if using. Blend well and pour unto a large cake pan that has been greased. The batter will be thick.

Set the oven temperature at 350° and place the cake in the cold oven. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

2 Responses to “Fresh Apple Cake”

  1. charlotteotter November 18, 2007 at 1:10 pm #

    Looks and sounds lovely. I would try it just to experiment with not preheating the oven first. I’ve never had to do that before!

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) November 18, 2007 at 6:31 pm #

    I don’t know the reason behind that instruction, but the retired home economics teacher who gave me the recipe stressed the fact very firmly.

    It turns out lovely, so I follow her advice!

Leave a Reply

