Back on track

15 Nov

My daughter felt better today, with no fever and very little coughing. In exchange for that, she was weepy and fractious, but I’ll take the trade-off gladly.

We have finished one bottle of antibiotics, but I bought another one today just to make sure the infection is really gone. I’m afraid of them, but they seem to help, and I also feel limited by the choices we have here. The truth is that I don’t know what else to do.

She still sounds a little bit congested, and I have a feeling that that lingering stuffiness is the problem and the cause of this recurring cycle. It seems she is sick for one week, well the next one and then sick again.

I’m trying to build up her immune system so the cycle doesn’t start, but she doesn’t like vitamins so I put on my serious face and force her to chew the tablet. I’ve also increased her vegetables and fruits, but it’s a struggle.

All kind of fatalistic scenarios have come into my head this past month, and I remember that when she was born, the relief of having a healthy, thriving baby didn’t last long. Other worries of what might happen took its place, and I realize now that as a parent, you never really stop worrying, regardless of how old your children are.

3 Responses to “Back on track”

  1. charlotteotter November 16, 2007 at 1:23 am #

    I don’t know how cold it is in Pakistan right now, but my kids follow exactly the same pattern during winter: one week well, one week not so good. Now that my oldest has turned seven and gone to school, she has left this behind and almost never gets sick. I do think they grow out of it, eventually, but in the meanwhile I am, like you, serving up the daily fruit ‘n veg and working on those vitamins.

    I do hope for your sake and hers that she’s no longer feeling weepy and fractious tomorrow.

  2. Helen November 16, 2007 at 1:03 pm #

    I’m glad your daughter is feeling better, and I hope she continues to improve.

    I know what you mean about the worry. I thought my worries would be over if I managed to get pregnant. How foolish I was! That was when my worries began.

    Kiko has what looks like bad nappy rash at the moment and it turns out I was using nappy cream that he’s allergic to. I’m so annoyed at myself for not reading the ingredients properly. I asked him if the rash was painful/itchy but he wouldn’t reply, then he told his Dad it was itchy. I wish he had communicated with me, and earlier! He always seems to get stuff on a Friday too, when it’s too late to make a doctor’s appointment until Monday.

    When I was little I lived in Africa and my brother and I were constantly sick. My mother was so worried about us, especially as she had very little access to doctors and effective medicine. Both of us almost died from measles and pneumonia and it was thanks to my mum nursing us that we pulled through. I’m only just beginning to realise what she must have gone through then. She did say that when I was five and we moved to UK, we were the kids who were never off school because our immune systems had become so tough!

  3. lvmg (Lizzy) November 17, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    I hope that all this sickness has a positive side and will prepare my daughter for the future, but it takes its toll. Every time she gets sick she loses weight and her little face looks pale and worn.

    One thing that becomes clear to me is that I am totally responsible for this human being. It’s an awesome charge.

Leave a Reply

