My scrapbook

12 Nov

My scrapbook

I found my old scrapbook the other day. It is plain, without the fancy paper and the handmade embellishments that I’ve seen people who are craftier than I do, but it holds many memories that are very meaningful to me.

There’s the tassel from the cap I wore for my college graduation; my first student ID card, and my last; the souvenir that my husband brought me from Acapulco right after we met; my membership cards for the National Geographic Society and Greenpeace; an article about Nelson Mandela’s homecoming that I cut from Life Magazine. There´s an article that I wrote for the student newspaper, and a picture of my childhood room in Honduras.

My childhood room

I think my mother didn’t like the knickknacks and the papered walls, but I loved my room. The privacy was freeing, and decorating it according to my own taste was a gift that gave me confidence and helped me to know myself.

I remember the posters of a-ha, the Pet Shop Boys and my number one crush Pierce Brosnan as Remington Steele. I actually paid five bucks to a classmate for that poster. I still have the two stuffed animals that are on the bed, and the little doll that sits on the night table. My little girl plays with them now, a little piece of my girlhood that I can share with her.

3 Responses to “My scrapbook”

  1. Helen November 13, 2007 at 3:28 pm #

    Is that Wham I see on the wall too? I used to have posters of the Pet Shop Boys too. This reminds me of my room when I was a teenager. I wish I’d taken a photo. The little doll is so cute. I have my old Little Ted sitting by my computer and Kiko always wants to play with him. He’s not very child-friendly because he has glass eyes that are broken but Kiko has been careful with him so far. The other day he sat on him then picked him up and patted him on the back and said: “Aw! Baby! Baby!” That was so cute. I ought to remember that when he’s being naughty.

    I hope your little girl is feeling better today.

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) November 13, 2007 at 11:53 pm #

    I think the posters are, clockwise from left:
    Bananarama,
    Pet Shop Boys,
    Flans (my favorite girl band from Mexico);
    I think the headless guy is Don Johnson but I’m not sure because I was never a fan of his show. It must be that the poster was free!
    Madonna’s neck, in her “Papa don’t Preach” persona,
    Flans (again!),
    a-ha,
    Soda Stereo, from Argentina (I had a huge crush on the singer)
    and Pierce Brosnan

    The only time I came close to fancying George Michael was during the “Faith” time. I think I liked the music, but I never had a crush on him.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twenty-five things I am happy about « No.1 Mouse Place - March 11, 2008

    […] I found a picture of my room in our old house in Honduras. It shows a Ziggi doll that now belongs to my […]

Leave a Reply

