More books for the wish list

9 Nov

I came upon a collection of children’s books by the New York Review of Books that I have added to my ever-growing Wish List at Amazon. Some of the titles have been out of print for many years.

I’d like to get these for my daughter to read when she is old enough:

  • The box of Delights, by John Masefield. The Bookmouse  mentioned this book in a meme and I made a note of it then.
  • Charlotte Sometimes, by Penelope Farmer
  • Carbonel, the King of Cats, by Barbara Sleigh
  • The House of Arden, by E. Nesbitt
  • An Episode of Sparrows, by Rumer Godden
  • The Little Book Room by Eleanor Farjeon
  • The Wind in the Moon by Eric Linklater
  • D’Aulaire’s Book of Animals, by Ingri & Edgar Parin d’Aulaire, as well as their other works, The Book of Trolls and the Book of Norse Myths.
  • The Magic Pudding, by Norman Lindsay
  • The Lost Island, by Eilis Dillon

I can’t wait to discuss these books with my little girl!

2 Responses to “More books for the wish list”

  1. TW November 9, 2007 at 11:30 pm #

    Hi Lizzy; just caught your post today and thought I would invite you to have a look at my new blog begun last night, (talulas.wordpress.com) and comment since I am extremely new at this blogging stuff. It looks like we may have many things in common, from looking at your tag cloud. I am still building my site, so it is still minimalistic.

    Some bio: WAHM & Grandma of 11. Retired Early childhood Educator and now owner of 2 on-line booksores. Child Advocate for all children’s issues and intend on providing literacy education to families for non-commercial-connected books for kids in the form of tales from all cultures from around the globe.

    Treasure your child today! TW

  2. Lilian November 10, 2007 at 2:27 am #

    I hope you and your daughter enjoy The Box of Delights! I haven’t heard of any of the others on your list, perhaps I should investigate them.

Leave a Reply

