The best cupcakes

21 Oct

I have been looking for a recipe for cupcakes that I can call my favorite, and I think I have found it. A lady I know gave me the recipe for these moist, fluffy little cakes that are fast and easy to make. I changed the recipe a bit, because I prefer to use plain flour instead of the self-rising kind.

I wish measurements were standard throughout the world, because it’s difficult to be accurate and it’s annoying to have to do these conversions. These are approximations that seem to work well.

Ingredients

125 grams (1 stick) butter, softened

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

¾ cup (165 g)  fine sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 ½ cups (225 g)  flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ cup (125 ml) milk

Method

Sift together the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Add the butter, milk and eggs and beat on slow speed until well mixed. Scrape down the sides. Add the vanilla essence and beat for a further two minutes on medium speed, until the mixture is smooth and changed in color.

Drop 1 ½ to 2 tablespoons of batter into paper cases and bake at 350° (175° C) for about 20 minutes, until golden.

Sift a couple of tablespoons of icing sugar over the cakes for a quick frill, or frost with buttercream if you like.

2 Responses to “The best cupcakes”

  1. Charlotte October 22, 2007 at 9:19 am #

    Delicious! These sound almost identical to the Nigella Lawson fairy cakes which I make for my kids, and they are always a success.

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) October 22, 2007 at 1:59 pm #

    I got this recipe because my friend baked these cupcakes for me when she came to dinner the other night. They were delicious!

    This recipe uses the same ingredients as Nigella’s (which I also have), but the proportions are different.

    One thing I like about cupcakes is that there is no greasing of the pan, a plus for me at any time. ;-)

Leave a Reply

