The Janeite Test & Becoming Jane

13 Sep

Someone at my favorite discussion boards posted a link to the Janeite Test. It’s a well-written quiz, difficult enough to make it interesting. I like the question about the male-only scenes, because it shows the author of the quiz knows her stuff. The answer is ‘false’, by the way.

I got 96 per cent book knowledge, and 94 per cent Jane Austen knowledge. Not bad, but not good enough. I’ll have to take it again to see if I can do better.

In a related Jane Austen note, I watched three quarters of the movie Becoming Jane on one of my flights from Honduras. What a farce! It’s appalling, a shameless attempt to cash-in on the popularity of Jane Austen, which should be resisted.

I have a theory: I think the filmmakers really wanted to make a movie of Pride & Prejudice, but their timing was off, as that adaptation was just done two years ago, so they thought they’d make it anyway, but would simply call it something different. They’ve taken the plot of Pride & Prejudice (even some of the lines), and pasted it on Jane Austen herself.

Had I gone to the theatre to see it, I would have walked out in disgust. Anne Hathaway was bad, so bad I was shocked. She was wooden, dull and charmless, her face a blank, expressionless mask without the humour and personality of a real person. I liked James McAvoy, though. He was believable as the Darcy-ahem-Tom Lefroy character. Other than that, it was all a waste.

Becoming Jane was so vile that I think it has replaced the 1999 movie of Mansfield Park by Patricia Rozema as the worst Jane Austen movie ever.

3 Responses to “The Janeite Test & Becoming Jane”

  1. Helen September 16, 2007 at 5:20 am #

    Ooh, I don’t know, that Mansfield Park film was horrendous! But I agree with you about Anne Hathaway – I was astounded that she was chosen to play Jane Austen. She couldn’t do an English accent! Why didn’t they choose an English actress? I kept wincing when she opened her mouth. They got the history all mangled too, although I have a scary feeling that that was intentional.

  2. lvmg (Lizzy) September 16, 2007 at 7:12 am #

    I think Anne Hathaway is a really pretty girl, but she didn’t convince me as an actress. There is another movie about Jane Austen being made, by the BBC, I think. It’s called ‘Miss Austen Regrets’ and the plot goes along the same lines. They want to get on the bandwagon but have run out of things to do.

  3. Ms. Place September 17, 2007 at 3:19 am #

    Amen to that. I agree whole heartedly with your assessment, though on my blog I might have been a wee bit kinder.

Leave a Reply

