The Interview Meme

10 Jul

I asked to be interviewed by Charlotte, and here is the result:

1. You are presently living in Pakistan and I think you have also lived in the US. Which of the countries you have lived in is your favourite and why?

I can’t say I have a favorite country. There are things I like about all the countries I have lived in, as well as things that are distasteful to me. Every country has its beauty, but living in a country means that my impressions of it have been colored by life and by circumstances. I have had happiness in all, and anguish and uncertainty have not made me bitter.

I want to do the Expat Meme Charlotte just posted, so I’ll save my thoughts for that one!

2. You have declared your passion for Jane Austen. Which of her heroines is closest to your heart?

Elizabeth Bennet. I know the character by heart. I love her charm, her common sense, her intelligence, dignity and integrity.

Elinor Dashwood from Sense & Sensibility inspires me with her courage, strength of character and unwavering sense of honor.

3. Are there any modern authors who you believe will have the same longevity?

I think the stories of Gabriel Garcia Marquez brake many barriers, including time.

4. How old is your daughter and what is her favourite food? Have you had any issues with getting her to like food or is she an easy eater?

My daughter is three-years-old. I think her favorite food is pasta, with bread and butter a close second. She is picky by turns, depending on her mood. She has a strong will, but when things are calm and her routine is in place, she will try new things.

I was very picky as a child, but grew out it as I became older. I trust my daughter will do the same, and I make an effort to expose her to new foods often.

I nursed her until she was two-and-a-half and maybe that has something to do with her fickleness. She gained weight and started eating more varied foods when I finally stopped nursing. Weaning her was a struggle, and sometimes feeding her felt like a chore. Every time she saw me she rushed at me looking for milk.

5. If I could guarantee you a no strings attached, fully paid for, holiday on your OWN, where would you go and what would you do?

I’d love to go to a luxury spa resort in the Pacific Ocean, where I can eat delicious food, indulge in every beauty treatment on the menu, and enjoy the sea air while laying on a hammock reading a good book.

DIRECTIONS FOR THE INTERVIEW MEME

  1. Leave a comment saying, “Interview me.”
  2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. Please make sure I have your email address.
  3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
  4. You will include this explanation and offer to interview someone else in the same post.
  5. When others comment, asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

2 Responses to “The Interview Meme”

  1. charlotteotter July 13, 2007 at 5:40 pm #

    Thanks for participating. I love it when my kids try new foods, but they often won’t. They get major praise for trying, even if they don’t like it. I find that they get more adventurous with age. Ollie, at 2, eats very plain bland food, but his two older sisters are slowly expanding their repertoire.

  2. Helen July 16, 2007 at 5:52 pm #

    I found Kiko is eating more now that I’ve taken him off milk (bottles). The only problem is, now he’s refusing to eat all dairy products apart from yoghurt which he’ll only eat in phases. Maybe food fussiness has something to do with having a strong will! I was fussy as a child and still am now, only the good part about being an adult is that you can have control over what you eat. Sometimes I feel guilty that I expect Kiko to eat a wide range of food, when half of what I give him I won’t eat myself.

Leave a Reply

