Pound Cake with raisins

2 Jul

If someone told me to choose one cake and forsake all others, my choice would be a Pound Cake.

Nothing compares to the buttery flavor, the rich, moist texture melting in my mouth bite after satisfying bite.

I can eat a whole loaf of cake all by myself, savoring each golden crumb without the smallest amount of guilt. Never mind the eggs. Never mind the butter and the sugar.

I say: if you’re going to have cake, make it worth the calories. No ‘light’, insipid concoction for me.

My favorite pound cake is Sour Cream Pound Cake, but this is a good, easy recipe with a large yield. It gives enough for three loaves, or a tube pan and a loaf, as I did here.

Pound cakes, served as they are, are the perfect coffee cake. They can be dressed up with whipped cream and fresh berries. A loaf can be sliced and toasted, paired with ice cream, English custard or lemon curd.

This time I frosted the cake with caramel, made by boiling a tin of sweetened condensed milk in a brimming water bath for 2 hours. It is delicious, like the dulce de leche of my childhood, only smoother.

Ingredients

2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

3 cups of sugar

6 large eggs, at room temperature

4 cups of flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 cup of raisins

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare the baking pans, using butter and flour.

Beat the butter in a large mixing bowl. Add the sugar gradually and beat well. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

In a separate bowl sift the flour, baking powder and salt. Beat on low speed to combine. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour. Beat at low speed. Add the vanilla essence and beat for a few seconds.

Toss the raisins in a bit of flour to prevent them sinking to the bottom of the pan during baking. Stir the raisins into the batter. Pour the batter into baking pans.

Bake the tube pan for 1 hour and 30 to 40 minutes. You may need to cover it with a tent of tin foil to prevent over-browning. Check the loaf pan after 1 hour, depending on your oven. Cakes are done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

3 Responses to “Pound Cake with raisins”

  1. lucette July 4, 2007 at 12:15 am #

    I love your cake plate.

  2. lvmg July 4, 2007 at 10:05 am #

    Thanks! I just found your site. I’ve tried before using the link from your comment, but there’s a mistake in it.

  3. lucette July 4, 2007 at 8:35 pm #

    Thanks for mentioning it–I think I fixed it.

Leave a Reply

