Little Books for Little Hands

20 Jun

It’s loadshedding time in Lahore. The electricity goes out at least two times a day, and with the hottest weather in many years (as high as 49 degrees), it has not been a pleasant few days. It finally rained and things cooled off by more than ten degrees. Thank goodness, because I’ve just about had it with the heat.

After the rain we ventured out and went book shopping for our daughter. She likes small books that her tiny hands can handle. They fit into her little purses and she can carry them with her. I am very glad that she is fond of books. The new ones in this picture are the ones in the foreground.

Shopping for books is fun in Pakistan. Used books are cheap and even new editions of the classics (my favorites) are inexpensive. Most of the used books come from England, and so I have discovered series that are new to me, like the Ladybird Books, but that are well-loved here.

This time we bought:

  • Love is a handful of Honey, by Giles Andreae
  • Home Sweet Home, by Colin Smithson
  • The Griffle and Mr Gotobed, by Sheila McCullagh
  • One to Ten and Down Again, by David Lloyd
  • The Gingerbread Man, illustrated by Peter Stevenson
  • Piglet Meets a Heffalump, The Original Pooh Treasury
  • Little Beaver and The Echo, by Amy MacDonald
  • The Tale of Benjamin Bunny, by Beatrix Potter
  • Humpty Dumpty, illustrated by Jan Smith
  • Badger in Danger, by Colin Dann
  • Round and Round the Garden, by Lucy Su
  • Ten Green Bottles, illustrated by Frank Endersby

Now that I’ve finished Bleak House, I’m on the lookout for my own next major read, Daniel Deronda, by George Eliot.

P.S. I forgot to write One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, by Dr Seuss. I was reminded of how much I like Dr Seuss by reading penguinunearthed‘s Favorite Toddler Books meme.
 

5 Responses to “Little Books for Little Hands”

  1. Helen June 20, 2007 at 3:14 pm #

    I see the Tale of Two Bad Mice in the background! Kiko latched on to that in the library the other day and has been attached to it ever since. I’m not quite sure why considering it doesn’t feature vehicles… but I’m seeing this as a good sign! I think we may have to buy it once it’s been returned to the library. It’s such a cute story. I love Beatrix Potter!

    I’ve been meaning to read Daniel Deronda for ages.

    Oh – and I love Ladybird books, we have a whole stash that my mum passed on to me from when my brother and I were little. I think Kiko is getting to an age where he can appreciate them.

    Happy reading to you and your daughter!

  2. lvmg June 21, 2007 at 12:41 pm #

    We have The Tale of Two Bad Mice on dvd. They animated the illustrations and it’s really very well done. My daughter loves it.

    I can’t stand mice in real life, but I love them in drawings, and BP’s especially. We also have The Tailor of Gloucester (the dresses of the lady mice are so cute). Angelina Ballerina is a favorite also.

    My husband brought two trunks full of his childhood books the other day. He still has his Ladybirds. I think they’re great!

  3. penguinunearthed July 6, 2007 at 5:02 pm #

    My younger son loves Spot books – glad to see him in the foreground too. Thanks for the link! Dr Seuss always has such a great sense of rhythm its a pleasure to read him aloud.

  4. Ann2 August 25, 2007 at 1:43 am #

    The Two Bad Mice was a favourite with my children as well.
    Later on we used to watch the wonderful Royal Ballet version of Beatrix Potter’s Fairy World every Christmas. I saw it is available at Amazon.uk.

    What a surprise, Vanessa, to learn you have settled in Lahore! I hope you will be happy there. Look back fondly on our meetings in England.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The world of… « No.1 Mouse Place - June 26, 2007

    […] Last Purchase: Books. […]

Leave a Reply

