Twenty-five things I’ve learned from my child

28 May

My daughter has taught me that:

1) A storybook can be read over and over and over and over…

2) Animals are our friends, except mosquitoes and flies

3) The strip of toothpaste squeezed onto the brush must look like a whale

4) Bubble baths are good

5) The word ‘no’ has many meanings

6) I must take care to use the right ‘no’

7) I should not begin a project before nap time unless I want some ‘help’

8) The day begins at 6 a.m., every day

9) Mispronounced words are adorable, like ephenant for elephant, chocolate-gunilla horse for chocolate-vanilla horse, and sit poperly, for sit properly.

10) “Why?” is the most complicated question in the world.

11) The word ‘later’ has no meaning

12) A hug can make everything all right

13) Life is fun

14) Sticky fingers will leave a mark

15) My desk is no longer my own

16) If I wear lipstick I must be prepared to share it with her

17) Tantrums will leave me exhausted

18) The TV exists only to watch cartoons

19) I must bite my tongue when I’m annoyed

20) She must come first, and she knows it

21) She is growing up too fast

22) I will miss her being three-years-old

23) The spot on her neck under her chin smells like heaven

24) I would give my life for her

25) My heart has grown since she was born

2 Responses to “Twenty-five things I’ve learned from my child”

  1. Marlon May 31, 2007 at 12:16 am #

    You are a mom. I love you and I’m proud of you.

  2. Helen May 31, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    She sounds lovely. Aren’t they so cute? I have one who is convinced that “no” means “yes”, no matter who’s saying it, and if he touches a forbidden thing while announcing “NO!” himself then it’s OK to touch it… Eeh, you don’t realise any of this before you have children!

Leave a Reply

