Birthday Girl

26 May

My little girl turned three-years-old three days ago, and in spite of the disappointment of being unable to bake her birthday cake myself, we had a very happy day.

 I can sympathize with Kerryn’s oven woes, although mine works, but it might as well not when presentation is important. I’ve never had a gas oven before and I’m not sure if being unable to light the top and bottom burners at the same time is the standard, or if it’s just my luck and this is what ovens here are like. This means that my cakes are never evenly baked, and to make sure the top is cooked, I have to turn the gas off, open the door and light the upper burner. I can be quick, but not quick enough to prevent loss of heat.

I baked a chocolate cake the day before her birthday but I had to admit to myself that it didn’t look good enough to take to my daughter’s play group. I’m still bitter about it because I had planned to take out my cake decorating bags and tips and present my daughter with an edible dinosaur, spiky tail and all.

In the end we bought two cakes and my husband drew a dinosaur that we then traced onto the cakes. I filled the shape with sugar sprinkles and added M&M’s to the tail for the spikes. With her childlike wonder, my daughter didn’t care that her cake was store-bought, but thoroughly enjoyed blowing the candles and cutting the first piece. She was very excited and told everyone in her preschool that she was having a birthday.

Her smile did not leave her face all day, and not even the onset of the flu could dull the sparkle in her eyes.

3 Responses to “Birthday Girl”

  1. Kerryn May 26, 2007 at 2:22 pm #

    Belated happy birthday to your beautiful little girl. I hope she is feeling better soon.

    Gas ovens are weird things — I’ve had to cook with a few over the years and if it’s not burners that won’t light, it’s temperatures that are never quite what they are meant to be. I would have resorted to a bought cake too but might not have gone to the effort of making a dinosaur of it.

  2. SusieJ May 27, 2007 at 7:28 pm #

    Happy Birthday. What a beautiful little girl. My kids ask me to “buy” a cake. I can cook — but I just can’t bake as good as the bakers. It’s OK.

  3. Helen May 31, 2007 at 2:51 pm #

    Happy birthday to your daughter! She is so cute and I love her outfit. The dress is so beautiful.

    I baked a cake for Kiko’s first birthday, back in November. It was a Victoria sponge with fresh cream and fruit, I was very proud of it… and the little villain wouldn’t touch it. Oh well…!

    I hope your daughter is OK and is recovering from the flu. We’ve been through two weeks of flu here and it’s no fun at all.

Leave a Reply

