The Favorite Toddler Books Meme

17 May

I am doing this meme started by (un)relaxed dad, because I love to buy books for my little girl, who is turning three on May 23. Some of my favorite books are also her favorites, but not all. These are the rules of the meme, as written by (un)relaxed dad, whose blog is like a trunk full of interesting stuff:

You should be the regular reader-of-bedtime-stories to a small child. Or children.

You are invited to choose the six stories that give you as much pleasure as the lucky recipient of your readings.

You are further invited to list them and give some indication as to why. With or without italics.

Tag a bunch more people and (if you have time) let know your list please! I’m always looking for something new to read to him. Well, to us.

1)  Brown Bear Brown Bear Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?, by Eric Carle. The text has a nice rhythm that my daughter loves. She’ll recite it when we go in the car and add the things that she sees on the street. The collage pictures are beautiful, too.

2)Runaway Bunny The Runaway Bunny, by Margaret Wise Brown. Very clever and simple story, but I love the underlying idea, that a mother is always there for her child.

3) Poky The Poky Little Puppy, by Janette Sebring Lowrey. I got this book as a gift when I was a child, even though I didn’t understand English at all. I remember I used to ‘read’ it aloud, pretending I spoke the language. The only word I knew was puppy (pronounced poooopy). It’s a pleasure to read it to my daughter now. She loves to count the puppies, and when she asks for it, she’ll call it the custard book, because at the end the Poky Little Puppy comes home too late and all the custard is finished.

4) Little Quack Little Quack, by Lauren Thompson & Derek Anderson. This book gives you the chance to make many silly sounds as you read, which is always a good quality in a toddler book. Little Quack and his brothers and sisters have that fluffy, dishevelled look of childhood, and the expression on the ducklings’ faces matches their personality. There’s a ‘quackulator’ at the bottom of every page that my daughter loves.

5)Peter Rabbit The Tale of Peter Rabbit, by Beatrix Potter. I don’t have a garden now, but when I do, it will look like this. My daughter loves animals, and this story is one of her favorites. She laughs when I squeal as I read “Stop, thief!”. I’ve read this book so many times now that I almost know it by heart. I think it is my ideal life, living in the country, in an old house, with roses around the door and a kitchen garden to tend. There is an absence of green here in Pakistan, at least in the parts I have visited, and Beatrix Potter’s drawings are to me like that image you see when you close your eyes and think of Spring.

6)Goodnight Moon Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown. “Goodnight moon, goodnight room, goodnight cow jumping over the moon” The rhyming text soothes a sleepy head, and I like the idea that you acknowledge the things around you, that you are aware of what you have so you don’t take it for granted.

6 Responses to “The Favorite Toddler Books Meme”

  1. Helen May 17, 2007 at 2:58 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your daughter for the 23rd!

    We have The Poky Little Puppy too. Kiko is starting to get more into his Little Golden Books, which is relief because apart from A Happy Man and His Dump Truck (or whatever it’s called!) they’re not completely vehicle-centered.

    I love Beatrix Potter books. My favourite one is Mrs Tiggywinkle.

  2. penguinunearthed May 18, 2007 at 3:20 am #

    I’ve only just started reading Beatrix Potter books to my boys (5 and 4). I forgot I had them until recently, but when I tried a couple of years ago, they didn’t have the patience for them.

    My great grandmother gave me one or two a year from when I was born until I was about five or six (across the world) so I treasure them for that reason, as well as the english countryside.

  3. Kerryn May 18, 2007 at 3:45 am #

    Of all the Golden Books we owned I loved The Poky Little Puppy the most when I was young. Years later, I bought it for one of my nephews and I was very disappointed when he granted it one glance and relegated it to the bottom of his pile of books. Not enough wheels involved, I think.

  4. lvmg May 18, 2007 at 7:54 pm #

    I was so happy when I found the Poky Little Puppy because all I remembered were the pictures. I didn’t know the title but the illustrations were still in my memory.

    I am lucky that my daughter likes most of the books I get for her. We went to a tent book sale the other day and we let her walk around and pick what she liked. It was so cute. I vetoed a couple of her choices, but she really enjoyed making her own purchases.

    I was reading about Beatrix Potter recently, and the Linnean Society issued an apology in 1997 for the way she was treated. She was not allowed to present her scientific papers because she was a woman. Her work is more remarkable when seen in that light.

  5. (un)relaxeddad May 19, 2007 at 12:17 pm #

    Thank you for joining in! I’ve really enjoyed discovering new possibilities for reading with dudelet and also discovering books in common with people (we’ve got and loved the Brown Bear book as well). The Goodnight Moon book sounds like one we should also check out…

  6. Rachel September 2, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    Have you tried the Woodland Folk series by Tony Wolf? I highly recommend them for anyone who enjoys Beatrix Potter. The illustrations are beautiful, I think that’s what first got me hooked when I was little, and the imagination and scope is incredible. It’s the collective stories of the woodland folk, the elves, the giants, the fairies and the dragons as they meet and learn from one another. Check out http://knittingiris.typepad.com/knitting_iris/2007/01/woodland_folk_b.html
    for the best description I’ve found, and some pictures.

Leave a Reply

