A book meme

21 Mar

I’ve been tagged by Charlotte , and I’m happy to oblige.

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? I don’t mind paperbacks. Some books I think should be in hardcover, but when you buy so many books the pennies add up, so sometimes it’s not even a choice.

Amazon or brick and mortar? Both. I enjoy going to bookstores, it’s a favorite outing for me. I remember when our daughter was born, I told a friend that I felt I should get serious in life, and his answer was, ‘Oh, yes, no more wild evenings at Barnes & Noble for you!’ I used to shop online retailers (Alibris and Abebooks) when looking for a specific used book, and I use Amazon’s wish list to keep a list of the books I want and hope to buy one day when our ship comes in. It currently has 947 items!

Barnes & Noble or Borders? Both, but B&N was closer to me. Borders had a great music and video section.

Bookmark or dogear? Bookmark, but I try to remember where I stopped in case my daughter takes it away.

Alphabetise by author, or by title, or random? They are grouped by subject, but we don’t alphabetize. Jane Austen has a shelf of her own. I’ve been thinking of using LibraryThing to catalogue our books, but I have been too lazy to work on it.

Keep, throw away or sell? Keep. Rarely, when I abhorred a book, I donated it to the library. The last one I remember was The Rector’s Wife, by Joanna Trollope. The last time I counted (four months ago) we had 461 books, not including our daughter’s.

Keep dust jacket or toss it? Keep, although I find them a nuisance.

Read with dust jacket on or remove it? I remove it.

Short story or novel? I read mostly novels. I have nothing against short stories, but the last collection I bought I could not finish the whole book. That was Winter’s Tales, by Isak Dinesen.

Collection of short stories or anthology? I don’t know, actually. It would not make a difference, I guess.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? Harry Potter. I’ve never read Lemony Snicket.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? It depends on how tired I am, and how much I like the book. I read HP6 in two days.

 “It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? The latter, I think. I make up stories for my daughter, and they always start like this.

Buy or borrow? Buy, to be sure. I don’t like to lend my books, because they never come back, and so I never borrow. I had a dinner guest once who simply took Little Women, didn’t even ask.

New or used? Both.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse? I don’t bother with book reviews, but I have made some good choices while browsing. If I value the opinion of the person who recommends a certain book, then I will look into it. I’m intrigued by Stephanie Plum, thanks to Charlotte, so I might give it a try.

Morning, afternoon or nighttime reading? I can read anytime, whenever I have the chance.

Favourite series? The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, which I find very comforting. I like Caroline Graham’s Inspector Barnaby series, too.

Favourite children’s book? Winnie-the-Pooh. I also like The Tale of Peter Rabbit, my daughter’s favorite.

Favourite book of which no-one has heard? Lady Susan, by Jane Austen.

Favourite books read last year? North & South, by Elizabeth Gaskell. Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens. Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe, though it broke my heart.

 Least favourite book finished last year? Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh. I started The Wings of the Dove, but I stopped half-way. 

What are you reading now? I’m reading Mansfield Park again. ITV just showed a new adaptation of it on March 18, as part of Jane Austen Season. It seems they dumbed it down and missed the whole point of the book, but I hope to see for myself and so I’m preparing by re-reading the novel.

What are you reading next? Bleak House and The Christmas Books by Dickens. I bought Crime and Punishment last year but I have yet to read it.

Want to play? Consider yourself tagged.

6 Responses to “A book meme”

  1. charlotteotter March 21, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    I also love the Ladies Detective Agency. For me, it’s very familiar and homely. I’m impressed by your Amazon wish list! I hope that ship does come in and you can have them all.

  2. Kerryn March 22, 2007 at 10:08 am #

    I’d be horrified if a dinner guest just took off with one of my books, especially if it was something like Little Women, which I’ve treasured since I was young. Was it ever returned to you (and, yes, I’m being optimistic!).

    Definitely give Stephanie Plum a go but be sure to start from the beginning! She’s a fun character and great for some escapist reading.

  3. lvmg March 23, 2007 at 10:52 pm #

    Hi Charlotte. I was wondering if you liked it. I don’t know how accurate they are, but Precious Ramotswe seems very real to me. I like the fact that the mysteries are simple, common-sense matters.

  4. lvmg March 23, 2007 at 11:01 pm #

    No Kerry, I never got the book back and I doubt if it was actually read.

    I checked SP at Amazon and it looks like fun, so that will be another addition to my list. I doubt I’ll find them here, but you never know. I went to a used bookstore the other day and found several things that I wanted, so I’ll keep an eye out.

  5. Tai March 31, 2007 at 1:23 am #

    You are so lucky that you get to read “Bleak House” for the first time. I think it is my favorite Dickens. Even better than “Great Expectations” — if that’s possible. Enjoy!

  6. lvmg March 31, 2007 at 11:43 am #

    I loved Great Expectations, Tai, so I am looking forward to Bleak House. I’ll start it today!

Leave a Reply

