10 Things I Like

2 Mar

Charlotte from Charlotte’s Web gave me the letter E to play this fun game. Her blog is great, by the way, and she’s a wonderful writer. Her stories are so good I feel I know her already. :-)

  • Eggs. A comfort food for me. I remember the Sunday breakfasts of my childhood, when my mother would make a grand meal. She was a schoolteacher, so the weekends were always a treat. Fried eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, I like them all. A fluffy ommelette with cheese and veggies, with buttered toast and hazelnut coffee I can have anytime. Sometimes I make our version of huevos rancheros, which is simply seasoned onions and tomatoes, cooked until soft and then drizzled over fried eggs. I think eggs are beautiful, especially the colored ones. Robin’s egg blue is a favorite color.
  •  Eating.I love good food, well made. It doesn’t have to be fancy, but quality and variety are important to me. I think it’s one of the things that I miss most since moving to Pakistan. There is a depressing lack of variety here. Even when you get pasta at a buffet restaurant, it is loaded with chilies, and most people will eat nothing but curry, except pizza and burgers. We went to KFC once and were dismayed and amused to read a comment on a suggestion board that said: ‘Please add other things to your menu, like chicken nehari & chicken masala’. Imported food items are expensive. We saw mushrooms at $10 for quarter of a pound. Salads consist of sliced tomatoes and onions drizzled with lemon, and vegetables are always cooked in a curry. I like Indian/Pakistani food, but not at every meal, which is what I’ve seen here.
  • Elderflower water. I tried it in England over the summer in 2006. A lovely drink, sweet and refreshing. I’ve been looking for it ever since, but no such luck. I’ll have to go back just for that, which leads me to:
  • England. I have been fascinated by it since I was a girl. Whenever I am there, I feel as if I’ve come home, which is ridiculous, as I have no tangible connection to it.
  • Elephants. One of my favorite animals. I like their female-centered family unit (not to say that I dislike fathers, of course) and the idea of different generations raising the young. Have you heard that saying about the memory of an elephant? Well it serves them well, as in times of drought the matriarch will remember places where they have found water in the past. When I was pregnant and bloated I consoled myself by remembering the elephant’s 22 months of gestation!
  • Elevenses. Like Winnie-the-pooh I like ‘a little smackerel of something’ around eleven-o’clock. Yesterday I had two fig-newtons that are not Fig Newtons. What do you call the elevenses that happen at any other time, I wonder?
  • Embrace. My daughter’s hugs mean happiness to me. The three of us have ‘family hugs’ too.
  • Eloquence. I value articulate, fluent and persuasive discourse. I deplore people who don’t know how to speak well, because it is so easy to improve oneself.
  • English language. I didn’t speak English until I was 17-years-old, but now it is second nature to me. I do everything in English; my thoughts are in English, and I’m a better writer in English too. I speak Spanish to my daughter, but I have to make an effort to be consistent, maybe because my husband and I speak to each other in English.
  • Equality. I wish it were more than just a dream.
Leave a Reply

